I had every intention of writing more of an educational series of blogs explaining just how eurocamping works. I wanted to give tips and recommendations and had grandeur plans of spreading the ease and cost effective way a family can travel through Europe. I got a little sidetracked.
A few days before my return to the states I received an anonymous tip that my beloved daddy was put on hospice. Now my husband does hospice care for a living, so I am fully aware of what this means. Apparently my mom had decided it wasn't necessary to alarm me. But I understand, you get hospice when you have six months or less to live. Sometimes they put people on hospice and take them off. Surely that is what will happen with my dad. Why send off an alarm? Our family is the ultimate non drama family. Needless to say I was more than anxious to get home and get to oregon to kiss my dada and support my mom.
Two days after our return, we had a BBQ with some of our close friends. I wanted to give hugs and say hello because I was going to be spending a Lot of time in Oregon . A lot of driving back and forth you know because my dad wasn't doing well. Our beloved dog a giant slobbery St. Bernard seemed to enjoy seeing everyone. She ate chicken and ribs and rolled on her back all night so everyone could rub her matted furry tummy. The next morning she couldn't get up. She made strange sounds and her legs were jutting out like she was convulsing. She was old,very old for such a big dog. It was the end. We called a mobile vet who would euthanize her and take her away and cremate her. She saved us the 150$ euthanization fee and took her last breath on our front lawn with us all surrounding her. Cole and Brock laid on top of her as she died and we all cried hopelessly. Within an hour or so the lady came and took her already stiff giant furry body away never for us to see again.
I left to oregon two days later. I really expected that my dad would be with us atleast six months, and maybe more you know they do take people off hospice ? When I first saw my dad I was greatful he recognized me. His eyes looked bad. I saw a similar look that I saw in Bella's eyes and it scared me to death. The details surrounding the next two weeks are too depressing to share , but long story short my wonderful beautiful father , the best man in my life, our family head passed away in his bed with us kids surrounding him with every ounce of love we had to give. It was the most painfull thing I've ever experienced in my life. When he took his last breath I realised I was not ready for this. None of us were. This wasn't supost to happen. This man was perfect in our eyes. This was the worst day of my life to day the least.
My family is from Oregon and we do things diffrent. We bury our own family. Yes that's right. We are from Oregon and we are weird like that. My brother had built a beautiful coffen and we dressed him and placed him in there and drove him to his final resting place ourself. My poor mom. She lost everything that mattered to her that day.
So fast forwarding to life currently. I have tried my best to keep insanely busy and not think about all the sadness in my heart. I do okay most days. I have an amazing support group of friends. I have a horse in my life names rio who is my therapy and absorbs my feelings in even the worst days and who is the best therapist any person could pay for.
Yesterday we received bad news yet again. Our accountant informed us instead of getting our much anticipated tax return we owe a buttload of money on taxes. Truly like a big buttload, like kardashian butt. Well okay whatever, even though I was very happy that the day before we were nearly debt free, we can make this work. I've never been afraid of not having money. It will be tight but we can take care of it. I resume my purpose driven positive business.
The next day we head to Idaho to attend a wedding. I've been asked to be a bridesmaid since the brides sister had an unfortunate leg breaking incident. So we pack up and head out early, leaving behind a house under construction. ( another story, but hey I'm trying to stay busy) we are carpooling with our great friends Britt ,Jamie and there cute little boys.
60 miles or so past winnemucca jim sails by a highway patrol car parked on the side of the road, a few moments later he's right behind us lights firing away. Oh bummer , oh well let's keep this positive we can just tack this ticket on to our mounting debt ,no biggie. He goes back to his cop car and jim says I can see he's writing me a ticket. Oh well, you can't charm them every time. The officer walks up to the window and ask Jimmie to step out and walk behind the car. Well that's weird. Hmm, maybe he sees my bottle of wine peeking out of the picnic basket and is suspicious. I watch my side mirror and am horrified to watch him tell Jimmie there is a warrant out for his arrest! What? !!!! Immediately my already out of whack hormones and purposefully repressed emotions come pouring out of me like a giant tsunami. You must be kidding!!! You got the wrong guy, this is a mistake! " mam get back in the car," What the bleep? You just handcuffed my husband, we are law abiding citizens! " your husband had a ticket in 2013 and never paid it so there's a warrant out for his arrest! " well I'm glad officer you cleared that up, I thought for a minute he was leading a double life and was a terrorist on the side of being the best father / husband I know of, with the exception of my dad who is now dead, and you are telling me your taking him to jail for an unpaid ticket?!!! I completely lost my #### I was waving my arms in the air like a deranged crazy woman, " we pay oyr taxes, we obey all the laws were good people! We pay our bills Always!!!! He said " mam you better get back in the car before you hit me"
By then I was beside myself. " I'm not gonna hit you!!! Or anyone else, that's what I'm telling you dumb butt were good people!!!" Sorry mam you can bail him out in winnemucca. For real??? We just drove an hour past winnemucca. " isn't there a jail you can toss him In a little closer to Idaho ? "
No mam but you can follow me.
By this time my handcuffed husband is in the back of the police car, Britt and Jamie have arrived to help. The kids are amazingly calm. We follow the cop car an hour back out of our way and speed to keep up with him. I declare when I get there I want to make a citizen arrest on this jerk. The police officer and the fat rude woman behind the bullet proof glass window say he is eligible for mail bond, but won't explain what that means to me. I try to tell them " look were not people who frequent jail houses what the hell is a bail bond?" " mam I can't tell you that but you can call him yourself if you wish." Do I need a bail bond? Or I can I just give them money and get him out? Is he in a real cell with bars back there? Are they strip searching him? Are there burly winnemucca men back there who would just love a little Arabian lover? I'm completely freaking out!!!
Little Bryce asks " mommy is uncle jimmy a bad guy?" Brock sarcastically answers " well Brock, Jimmie obviously isn't the man we thought he was. "
One thing led to another and I pissed off the woman behind the bullet proof glass. I was so livid by this point. This justice system sucks, I know there are meth heads , pedophiles crooks out there right now and our tax money is paying forth this? You law enforcement people is this was you dreamed of when you thought you'd be a cop and catch bad guys? Well good for you , you caught Jimmie. I wanted to verbally rip her head off and chew it up and spit it back at her. The only only thing that helped me keep any resemblance of mental stability was Britt and Jamie and all of the kids sitting there with me.
When I asked the rotten beast of a woman behind the glass, " when is he coming out? I paid the money, you processed the papers, when is coming out?" She fired back at me " if you want to know then go call on that grey phone and ask them" so after a while I go over to the grey phone and pick it up' I kindly and calmly ask" I was just wondering when is m husband going to get out of there?"
Well apparently the beast had time to report to her burly side kick in the back , because she immediately went off into controlling phsyco cop chick mode. " listen your acting like a crack and you were rude to the girl at the front, and he gets out when we let him out!""" Okay by this time smoke is blowing from my nose and the back of my neck is sweating from furor. " listen lady , I don't even know what a crack is, I'm just asking a simple question, but I'm pretty sure if there's a " crack" here, whatever that is, it's YOU!!!" After firing back some unnecessary insults because she can, because she's the poor sap who has no control over anything else in her life she can vent on the stranded wives of men who forgot to pay a 50$ ticket in the lonely awful town of winnemucca, she finally informs me he is almost done. We'll gee thanks for answering the question. So 500$ in bail, which had to be paid in cash ( thank god winnemucca had a Wells Fargo) finally Jimmie was set free.
Well we are back on the road again. Life at home just doesn't feel the same as traveling through ought Europe that's for sure. To sum it up, after you've been thrown in the slammer it can't get any worse right? I'm looking forward to a peaceful long winter, drinking wine by the fire with good friends and enjoying the contend ness that comes with being broke, embracing the family and friends that I hold dear. Hopefully no more run ins with the law.













































